They've been doing those "People You May Know" things for a while now. She probably accidentally clicked on "send friend request" when trying to look at your profile.
That's what I thought but she vehemently denies adding me. Though, yes, I am open to the idea that upon looking at friends of friends, some unintentional clicks may have gone unnoticed.