You are completely right. I admit that I wasn't paying a lot of attention. I was in a mode of scanning-documentation-trying-to-figure-something-out. I didn't think that poking around the developer center could destroy my account.
Obviously I was wrong, and I'm kicking myself now. But still, it is absolutely stupid to make it that easy to wreck your account.
Because much of the time, users won't pay attention to paragraphs of text you put around prominent links and buttons.
[Edit] Also, the button says "Make Your Name a Test Account." I thought it was going to make a test account for me, not from me.
This is only true up to a point - perhaps not when referring to instructions about how to interface with APIs or otherwise develop custom content for the site.
Indeed, people rarely read instructions - but sometimes they read them and misinterpret them, which is what I think happened here. I still think FB should make you confirm by clicking a button though, especially if there is no way to return your account to its normal state.
While I would also be quite irate if I was in your position, it does not sound like this can be blamed entirely on FB. My first parsing of "Make <your name> a Test Account" is that it means "the FB account with <your name> will be converted from a real account in to a test account".
Also,
> "To make a test account, register on Facebook as you normally would. Then, when logged in to the test account, go to this URL"
That also seems quite clear to me:
Create a test account
Log in to the test account
Click "Make <your name> a Test Account"
That being said, I do agree - this should have required more confirmation. This could have been avoided with a simple message box saying "Hold up, are you sure? <Your name> will no longer be a normal FB user. All <Your name's> friends will be deleted, and you will not be able to admin any apps. If you want a test account in addition to your normal account, you need to..."
I'm not sure your example works because one would not normally expect a person to be turned into a cake, so the "give you a cake" reading is going to seem much more plausible.
If the button said "Make myran a genius", what would you expect to happen?
Like thalur says, the cake analogy is not entirely accurate, but you make a good point - the phrasing of the statement is ambiguous, and could be taken to mean two different things:
Convert <item> in to <an object>
Create <an object> belonging to <item>
Given the ambiguity, FB should probably tweak the wording to make it as obvious as possible.
Off-topic, but I am always impressed with how people share differing viewpoints on HN. It actually feels like a "forum" in the original sense of the word, instead of a shouting match between warring egos with something to prove.
Here's a super-obvious fix: Facebook should show you what they're deleting.
It's easy to be confused about which user is currently signed in, even if you did create a new account you want to use for testing.
So FB should have an intermediary step that says:
WARNING: you are setting this account to test mode. That will involve DELETING its links to 354 friends (list some of them), 23 pages (list some of them), 5 years worth of status updates, etc..
Or simply don't allow an account to be set to test mode if it has more than 2 friends or 5 status updates (etc... some reasonable test).
Obviously I was wrong, and I'm kicking myself now. But still, it is absolutely stupid to make it that easy to wreck your account.
Because much of the time, users won't pay attention to paragraphs of text you put around prominent links and buttons.
[Edit] Also, the button says "Make Your Name a Test Account." I thought it was going to make a test account for me, not from me.