This is only true up to a point - perhaps not when referring to instructions about how to interface with APIs or otherwise develop custom content for the site.
Indeed, people rarely read instructions - but sometimes they read them and misinterpret them, which is what I think happened here. I still think FB should make you confirm by clicking a button though, especially if there is no way to return your account to its normal state.